top of page

A Spider & Its Moon

Updated: Oct 25, 2021

Inspired by seeing a spider ''staring at the moon" (aka a light-globe reflection on window).


The moon is far, yet I can see it. The sun is in sight too. I can see the moon. I can see the sun. And I am in between.

The moon is moving, yet I don’t see it. The sun is moving too. I can move. I can be moved. And the Earth is moving too.

We’re all here. We’re all moving. But, sometimes we’re not. And all seems still.

If I can’t feel the spinning Earth, If I can’t see the moving moon, If I can’t gauge the sun’s size, Then, they are just lights in the sky. ___

Except somehow, they are more. The moon is my friend. The sun is my energy. I look to the moon for hope. I absorb the sun’s glow.

They greet us daily. They’re an overlooked stability.

If the moon vanished for a bit, If the sun did not rise, Would we notice right away? Would it take us by surprise?

Because further and further, our eyes turn down. In spirit, we demise. In bodies, we hunch. ___

The moon could be a far-away rock. The sun, a blazing star. If you swapped the rock for cheese, And the star for a torch, I could still befriend them. I could still find hope and energy.

But, I may no longer be still. I may feel the spinning. I may see the moving. I may gauge the size.

I may no longer be still. We may no longer be still. Will we still? ___

If we take what is real, but believe to be not. And replace it with objects not fit for the job, What is real will appear, With its strength and no mercy.

If we think we have power, We will soon find our place. But we do have the power, To change our current pace.

Simply look to the moon. Ask it a favour. Look to the sun. Settle in its embrace. ___

We are still moving. We are still, still. Believe what you want. Believe what you will.

If you can, understand, That what you send, you will receive. The moon and the sun are always giving. They are ready for you to see.

Your moon may not be a rock, nor your sun a star. But they know who they are, and you now, too. There’s a force that will reveal, No matter how you let it through.

You can turn a blind eye to the nature of the sky.

Keep questioning if, but, who, when, and why?

Just remember one thing, if willing, then try,

There is no stronger force of nature than I.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page